CD Review: “Trust No One” by Devildriver

Devildriver stays on the beaten path with its seventh record, Trust No One. The band get straight to business with “Testimony of Truth” which features nice guitar work from new guitarist Neil Tiemann. The double bass drumming propels this track. “Into the Night Sky” opens with a sludgy riff but stays on cruise control for the remainder of the track. There is a nice electronic ambient sample in the middle of the song that breaks the monotony though. The band adds a little Euro-metal influence on “This Deception.” The guitars are vaguely reminiscent of melodic death metal but the band reverts to its signature groove sound. It is another example of the band refusing to deviate from its comfort zone. This reluctance is prevalent on the record, as the band has the potential to hit metal gold but play it safe. The lead single “Daybreak” has a great chorus riff but it is mired on standard metalcore conventions. It is still one of the better songs on Trust No One and serves as an excellent lead single.

While Devildriver plays it safe on this record, it is understandable as the band has two new members in the fold, the aforementioned Neil Tiemann on guitar and Austin D’Amond on drums. It takes time to grow accustomed to new members and Trust No One is a feeling out record. They are both accomplished musicians and play Devildriver’s brand of metal well. Still, we only hear glimpses of what could be. The band could pull off a decent thrash or melodic death metal track but it does not for whatever reason. There is the possibility that the band takes it up a notch on its next record, but only time will tell.

Trust No One is a Devildriver record. Fans of the band will like it and the group’s detractors will not. There are some cool breakdowns and guitar leads sprinkled on the record, but nothing outstanding. Still, Devildriver soldiers on with 13 years and seven records under its belt. The band’s formula works for it and no point in changing it now.

For news and tour dates check out the band’s website:

Comments are closed.